Music

MusicWeekend

From Melbourne with Love

by Lucas Fagen on October 26, 2014

Post image for From Melbourne with Love

Founded by conductor/saxophone whiz Andy Williamson, the Bombay Royale are eleven Australian troublemakers who play their own hammy, modernized style of Bollywood movie music.

Continue Reading →

MusicWeekend

Bland in an Interesting Way

by Lucas Fagen on October 19, 2014

Post image for Bland in an Interesting Way

If the War on Drugs’s Lost in the Dream is a brilliant soft-pop masterpiece, a theory I am perfectly willing to entertain, it is brilliant in a way more suited to a platinum bestseller than to a critics’ record.

Continue Reading →

MusicWeekend

Magnum Opus Cycnorum

by Lucas Fagen on September 28, 2014

The Swans,

Swans, led by one Michael Gira, are the only band around right now to combine the abrasive militancy of classic American noise rock with mind-boggling avant-garde imagination.

Continue Reading →

MusicWeekend

Keep Brooklyn Weird

by Lucas Fagen on September 20, 2014

Post image for Keep Brooklyn Weird

Parquet Courts have been compared to Wire, Television, the Velvet Underground, the Modern Lovers, Sonic Youth, the Feelies, the Fall, Minor Threat, Flipper, Guided by Voices, Archers of Loaf, Silkworm, of course Pavement, and I could go on.

Continue Reading →
Post image for Fagen’s Critical Catalogue (August 2014, Part 2)

As for iSweat Fitness Music, ah, blame it if you will on my own schlocky taste.

Continue Reading →
Post image for Fagen’s Critical Catalogue (August 2014, Part 1)

It has come to my attention that the radio edit of Future’s “Move That Dope” has been christened “Move That Doh” in a classic censorship joke.

Continue Reading →
Post image for Fagen’s Critical Catalogue (July 2014, Part 2)

In part 2 of this month, reviews of Lana Del Rey, Sam Smith, Indian Ocean, and Kitten.

Continue Reading →
Post image for Fagen’s Critical Catalogue (July 2014, Part 1)

In part 1 of this month, reviews of Celtic Woman, The Fault in Our Stars, The Rough Guide to Indian Classical Music, and Deadmau5.

Continue Reading →
Post image for Fagen’s Critical Catalogue (June 2014, Part 2)

In part 2 of this month, reviews of First Aid Kit, EMA, How to Dress Well, and Jack White.

Continue Reading →
Post image for Fagen’s Critical Catalogue (June 2014, Part 1)

In part 1 of this month, reviews of Jason Derulo, Skrillex, Linkin Park, and Young Thug & Bloody Jay.

Continue Reading →