“I guess that for me I am still discovering what the program has to offer beyond practicalities. I am increasingly impressed by our faculty and their commitment to being committed to us. I also think that our program is very open to its own potential, and is not rigid. We went for a walk just for the hell of it, remember?” —Lauren Nickou, MFA class of 2014

CUNY’s Queens College MFA (QCMFA) in Studio Art is a comprehensive, studio-based graduate program focused on contemporary painting, sculpture, installation, digital media, critical theory, and a specialization in social practice art. Started as a pilot program in Spring 2011, with successful graduates in 2013, Social Practice Queens is an MFA Concentration that involves cross-disciplinary theory and research into the production of project-based community art, “new genre” public art, social sculpture, and urban interventions.

Every QCMFA candidate enjoys a large, private workspace with access to wood, metal, plaster, ceramic, printmaking, digital, traditional photo facilities, and an on-site bronze foundry that is unique within CUNY. Professionally active full-and part-time faculty provide a student-teacher ratio of more than 1:2. QCMFA aims to produce graduates qualified to teach at the college level while contributing significantly to the contemporary world of the visual arts.  If you seek a smaller, less expensive MFA program located in New York City, which fosters a critically intensive, work-oriented environment, then no better option exists.

The Application Deadline for Queens College CUNY MFA is March 25, 2014. For more information visit: http://www.qc.cuny.edu/academics/degrees/dah/art/Pages/default.aspx

QC Full-Time Studio Faculty include:
Arthur Cohen | Maureen Connor | Glenn Goldberg | Tony Gonzalez | Sin-ying Ho | Kurt Kauper | Tyrone Mitchell | Debra Priestly | Gregory Sholette

Recent studio visits and guest artists providing studio critiques include: Doug Ashford, Angela Dufresne, Dana Schutz, Xenobia Bailey, Larry Bogad, Robert Boyd, Amy Cutler, John Currin, Lois Dodd, Spencer Finch, Tom Finkelpearl, inCUBATE, Jim Lee, Pepon Osorio, Saul Ostrow, Elizabeth Peyton, Ted Purves, Sal Randolph, David Reed, Mika Rottenberg, Elsie Siegel, Eve Sussman, Nato Thompson, T. J. Wilcox, and The Yes Men.

Annual MFA Exhibition guest curators include: Michele Levy, Omar Lopez-Chahoud, Liz Park, Herb Tamm, and A.M. Weaver.

The following organizations, entities, and companies sponsor or have sponsored Hyperallergic.