Rei Kawakubo (Photo by Paolo Roversi/©Comme des Garçons)

Art Movements is a weekly index of developments centering the people of the arts and culture sphere. Listen to our weekly podcast of the same name on iTunes.


Ron Athey, Carmen Argote, and Diedrick Brackens are the recipients of Artadia’s 2019 Los Angeles Awards. [LA Times]

ArtPrize has revealed the artists participating in the inaugural edition of its Project biennial. [ARTnews]

Defne Ayas and Natasha Ginwala will curate the 13th Gwangju Biennale. [e-flux]

Yto Barrada was awarded the 2019 Roy R. Neuberger Prize by the Neuberger Museum of Art in Purchase, New York. [ARTnews]

Nandalal Bose, Atul Dodiya, GR Iranna, Rummana Hussain, Jitish Kallat, Shakuntala Kulkarni, and Ashim Purkayastha have been selected to represent India at the 2019 Venice Biennale. [via email announcement]

This year’s Bronx Museum of Art’s Bronx Gala will honor Hank Willis Thomas and Eric Gottesman for the Art for Justice Visionaries Award; Junko Kobayashi for the Lifetime Achievement Award; and Carey Lovelace for the Visionaries Pathmaker Award. [ARTnews]

The Chicago Architecture Biennial has announced the 51 artists, architects, collectives, and researchers participating in its 2019 exhibition. [ARTnews]

Kristy Edmunds was awarded the inaugural Berresford Prize by United States Artists. [via email announcement]

Aroussiak Gabrielian and Alison B. Hirsch were awarded the inaugural Tomorrowland Projects Foundation award. [ARTnews]

The recipients of the Getty/American Council of Learned Societies Postdoctoral Fellowships in the History of Art are Elizabeth Ann Cecil, Kyrah Malika Daniels, Jacopo Gnisci, Helen Rose Hughes, Angelina Lucento, Kelema Moses, Clarissa Ricci, Alice Isabella Sullivan, Steffen Zierholz, and Daniel Michael Zolli. [via email announcement]

The 83 artists and collectives that will participate in the main exhibition of the Havana Biennial‘s 13th edition have been announced. [ARTnews]

Rei Kawakubo was awarded the  2019 Isamu Noguchi Award by the Noguchi Museum. [via email announcement]

John Newman, Mierle Laderman Ukeles, Ralph Lemon, Jennifer Bartlett, and Johannes Girardoni are the winners of Art Omi‘s 2019 Francis J. Greenburger Award. [ARTnews]

Tommy Orange was awarded the 2019 PEN/Hemingway Award by PEN America. [via email announcement]

The Prospect 5 triennial in New Orleans has announced the members of its artistic director’s council. [ARTnews]

Jerry Saltz received an award in the Leisure Interests category in the American Society of Magazine Editors’s annual National Magazine Awards. [Vulture]

Shirana Shahbazi, Meili & Peter Architekten, and Samuel Schellenberg have received the Prix Meret Oppenheim. [ARTnews]


New York’s Department of Sanitation has launched a “Trucks Of Art” project and contest, asking volunteer artists to submit ideas on how to redesign its 23-ton collection trucks into inspiring works of art. [CBS]

Kehinde Wiley has launched a multi-disciplinary artist-in-residency program, Black Rock Senegal. In a press release, Wiley said, “With this project I wanted to explore my own personal relationship with Africa while inviting artists to do the same and to galvanize the growing artistic and creative energies that exist in Africa in an increasing measure with the addition of diverse, international, creative possibility.” Applications for one, two, or three month residencies are due on April 15, 2019. [Black Rock Senegal]


Detail of LaKela Brown’s “Doorknocker Grill and Chicken Head Large Cosmopolitan” (2018) at Reyes Projects (image by Sarah Rose Sharp for Hyperallergic)

Laura Allred Hurtado was named executive director of the Utah Museum of Contemporary Art. [Artforum]

Anna Katherine Brodbeck was named senior curator of contemporary art at the Dallas Museum of Art. [via email announcement]

Lisa Charleyboy was appointed manager of Indigenous initiatives and Jocelyn Piirainen was appointed assistant curator of Inuit Art at the Winnipeg Art Gallery. [Winnipeg Free Press]

Denny Dimin Gallery in New York is opening a Hong Kong location. [via email annoucement]

Isabella Kairis Icoz was appointed a senior director of Lehmann Maupin gallery. [via email annoucement]

Rodrigo Moura was appointed chief curator of El Museo del Barrio. [via email announcement]

Larry Ossei-Mensah will organize the Brooklyn Academy of Music’s inaugural exhibition in its Rudin Family Gallery as a guest curator. [ARTnews]

Reyes Projects is relocating to downtown Detroit’s Corktown neighborhood and changing its name to Reyes | Finn. [via email announcement]

Monika Szewczyk was named director of the De Appel Center in Amsterdam. [ARTnews]


Lamia al-Gailani (1938–2019), renowned Iraqi archaeologist and expert on ancient Mesopotamia, known for revitalizing the looted Basrah museum [TAN]

Hal Blaine (1929–2019), drummer and session musician believed to one of the most recorded studio drummers in the history of the music industry [JamBase]

Edmund Capon (1940–2019), curator and longtime director of the Art Gallery of New South Wales [Guardian]

Vivian Cherry (1920–2019), street photographer [Fstoppers]

Dick Dale (1937–2019), guitarist and surf music pioneer [Washington Post]

Wanda de Guebriant (1949–2019), art historian, archivist, and Henri Matisse specialist [TAN]

Okwui Enwezor (1963–2019), acclaimed world pioneer who curated the 2015 Venice Biennale, Documenta, and other historic biennials and exhibitions [Culture Type]

Michael Gielen (1927–2019), conductor and composer who championed contemporary music [Gramophone]

Barbara Hammer (1939–2019), feminist artist known as a pioneer in lesbian film [Vanity Fair]

Edith Iglauer (1917–2019), journalist and writer [NYT]

J.H. Kwabena Nketia (1921–2019), composer and ethnomusicologist considered the world’s leading scholar on African musical traditions [NYT]

Jacques Loussier (1934–2019), pianist and composer known for his jazz interpretations [NYT]

W.S. Merwin (1927–2019), Pulitzer Prize-winning poet [New Yorker]

Helen Miller (1936–2019), labor champion of home care workers [NYT]

Al Silverman (1926–2019), sports writer [NYT]

Johnny Thompson (1934–2019), magician and educator [Variety]

Sidney Verba (1932–2019), political scientist, librarian and library administrator [NYT]

Marjorie Weinman Sharmat (1928–2019), children’s book author [AV Press]

Lee Wen (1957–2019), performance artist and Cultural Medallion recipient [CNA Lifestyle]

Jasmine Weber is an artist, writer, and former news editor at Hyperallergic. Follow her on Instagram and Twitter.