The three-year MFA at Arizona State University’s School of Art is a top-ranked, tuition funded program offering multiple pathways to advance artistic practice. Working closely with our distinguished faculty, students hone their skills to produce culturally relevant work and sustain a lifelong creative practice. The program encourages innovative thinking, interdisciplinary research, and working with faculty across campus. Students work within and across disciplines such as animation, ceramics, intermedia, metals, painting and drawing, photography, printmaking, sculpture, textiles, and woods. They can also pursue thematic research in a range of topics including social practice, environmental justice, sustainability, and emerging technologies.

Graduate students have 24/7 access to individual, world class studio space at Grant Street Studios, located in downtown Phoenix. This facility is home to two galleries and enhanced resources including a wood shop, printmaking presses, photography darkroom, ceramics kilns, computer lab and 3D print lab. The MFA program culminates in a solo thesis exhibition in one of our galleries. The ASU Art Museum, Ceramics Research Center, and cultural institutions in Phoenix offer vital opportunities for students to connect with artists and curators.

Critical to contemporary times, ASU measures itself not by whom it excludes, but by whom it includes and how they succeed. We value diversity and creative thinking to advance research and discovery of public value; and we assume fundamental responsibility for the economic, social, cultural, and overall health of the communities we serve. 

MFA Faculty: Julie Anand, Susan Beiner, Margarita Cabrera, Sam Chung, Liz Cohen, Dan Collins, Angela Ellsworth, Heather Green, Erika Hanson, Hilary Harp, Heidi Hogden, Meredith Hoy, Mary Hood, Adriene Jenik, Mark Klett, Shawn Lawson, Christine Lee, Muriel Magenta, Ellen Meissinger, Wanesia Misquadace, Mary Neubauer, Katie Parker, Anthony Pessler, Mark Pomilio, Gregory Sale, Henry Schoebel, Stephen Marc, Forrest Solis, Benjamin Timpson, Kurt Weiser, Jim White.

The deadline to apply is January 15, 2021.

Register to attend the Virtual MFA Information session on December 4, 2020 at 4pm (MST).

For more information on Arizona State University’s MFA program, visit

Follow ASU School of Art on Instagram and Facebook.