two trees

2015–16 Sharpe-Walentas Studio Program resident Austin English’s studio (photo by Nina Choi)

The Sharpe-Walentas Studio Program is pleased to present this year’s open studios event on Saturday, May 21 and Sunday, May 22, with an opening reception for the artists on Friday, May 20.

2015–16 Sharpe-Walentas Studio Program Residents: Yevgeniya Baras, Maria Berrio, Julia  Bland, Mike Cloud, Cesar Cornejo, Michael  Dixon, Christopher Domenick, Austin English, Steffani Jemison, Aliza Nisenbaum, Norm  Paris, Kara Rooney, Victoria Roth, Jessica Segall, Tomas Vu, Nat Ward, and Zachary Wollard.

Reception: Friday, May 20, 6–9 PM
Open Studios: Saturday, May 21 and Sunday, May 22, 2–6 PM
Location: 20 Jay Street, Suite 720, DUMBO, Brooklyn (A/C to High Street, F train to York Street)

The Sharpe-Walentas Studio Program is the new face of the Marie Walsh Sharpe Art Foundation Space Program, developed for artists, by artists in 1991.

The program is available to 17 individual artists who are chosen by a jury of professional artists from an annual pool of more than 1,200 applications. Since its founding, the Studio Program has awarded studio space to 385 American artists.

The Foundation’s Artists Advisory Committee — Cynthia Carlson, Chuck Close, Janet Fish, Philip Pearlstein, Irving Sandler, Harriet Shorr, and Robert Storr — initiated and developed the Studio Program as a service to living artists. Since 2006, artists Phong Bui, Matthew Deleget, Tara Donovan, Mark Greenwold, Deborah Kass, Beverly McIver, and Joel Shapiro have joined the Artists Advisory Committee, which continues to work in tandem with the Sharpe-Walentas Studio Program’s management team.

The following organizations, entities, and companies sponsor or have sponsored Hyperallergic.