Installation shot of Cerith Wyn Evans in The Hepworth Prize for Sculpture 2018. 26 October 2018 – 20 January 2019. (Photo, Stuart Whipps; Courtesy of the Hepworth Wakefield)

Art Movements is a weekly index of developments centering the people of the arts and culture sphere. Listen to our weekly podcast of the same name on iTunes.


Pulitzer Prize-winning writer Hilton Als has received the Langston Hughes Medal by The City College of New York. The award is reserved for highly distinguished writers from throughout the African American diaspora. Past winners include Maya Angelou, Toni Morrison, and James Baldwin. [CCNY]

Krista Clark and William Downs are the awardees of the 2018 Atlanta Artadia Awards. [via email announcement]

Artist Kapwani Kiwanga has received the 2018 Sobey Art Award from the National Gallery of Canada in Ottawa. Kiwanga will receive $100,000 CAD (~$75,500 USD). [e-flux]

The John S. and James L. Knight Foundation will bestow $435,000 to four arts and technology organizations as part of a new initiative to engage the public with digital art projects long-term. The Gray Area Foundation for the Arts in San Francisco and the University of Denver will receive $150,000 respectively; the Processing Foundation will receive $67,800; and the School for Poetic Computation in New York will receive $62,400. [Fast Company]

Pipilotti Rist was named the winner of the 2018 Aurora Award at the Aurora Picture Show. [via email announcement]

Shandaken Projects and the Trust for Governors Island have announced the inaugural one-year residents of the program Shandaken: Governors Island. The artists will unveil public art projects on Governors Island in 2019. Artists Candystore, Alicia Grullón, Kavita Kulkarni, Marie Lorenz, and Tourmaline were chosen for the accolade. [Governors Island]

Amandla Stenberg is the recipient of the Trevor Project‘s Youth Innovator Award. [via email announcement]

Cerith Wyn Evans was named the winner of the second Hepworth Prize for Sculpture by the Hepworth Wakefield museum in Yorkshire, England. The prize grants $38,500 to a UK artist who has had significant influence in contemporary sculpture. [Evening Standard]


The Old Stone House at Washington Park in Brooklyn has announced an open call for art submissions for its contemporary art exhibition Race and Revolution: Reimagining Monuments. Artists are encouraged to submit artworks in all media, indoor or outdoor event proposals, and community workshops that complement artwork on view in the gallery. The submission deadline is November 30. [Old Stone House]

NYC Parks’ Ebony Society is accepting proposals for the exhibition Power to the People, addressing public demonstrations and protests. The submission deadline is November 29. [NYC Parks]


Jennifer Bartlett (Courtesy of the artist, Paula Cooper Gallery, and Marianne Boesky Gallery. Photo credit: 2018 Jennifer Bartlett Trust. ©2018 Takaaki Matsumoto)

Christian Adame will join the Portland Museum of Art in Maine as director of learning and interpretation. [PMAM]

Bill Arning will serve as a curator and artist liaison for special projects at Nancy Littlejohn Fine Art gallery. [ARTnews]

Jennifer Bartlett is now represented by Marianne Boesky Gallery in partnership with Paula Cooper Gallery. [via email announcement]

Monique Burger, John Garcia, and Florian Gutzwiller have joined the board of the New York-based Swiss Institute. [Artforum]

Stephen Failey will join as director of Red Hook Labs’ new initiative in education, the New Labs School, which will open January 2019. [via email announcement]

Annie Fletcher was appointed director of the Irish Museum of Modern Art in Dublin. [via email announcement]

Sharon Holm was appointed deputy director of marketing and public engagement at the Pérez Art Museum Miami. [via email announcement]

Koji Inoue was appointed International Senior Director Post War & Contemporary Art of Hauser & Wirth in New York. [via email announcement]

Steven Kasher Gallery will close, and its eponymous gallerist, Steven Kasher, will join David Zwirner as a director. [via email announcement]

Ruby Neri is now represented by Salon 94 gallery in New York. [via email announcement]

Gary Ryan was appointed executive director of the Virginia Museum of Contemporary Art in Virginia Beach. [ARTnews]

Marja Sakari was named director of the Finnish National Gallery in Helsinki. [Art Daily]

Philipp von Württemberg has resigned from his position as managing director of Sotheby’s Germany. [TAN]


Installation view of Beyond the Canvas: Contemporary Art from Puerto Rico at the Newcomb Art Museum with works by Arnaldo Roche-Rabell (left) and Zilia Sánchez (right)

Installation view of Beyond the Canvas: Contemporary Art from Puerto Rico at the Newcomb Art Museum with works by Arnaldo Roche-Rabell (left) and Zilia Sánchez (right) (courtesy the Newcomb Art Museum)

Roy Clark (1933–2018), singer-guitarist who headlined TV show, Hee Haw. [USA Today]

William Goldman (1931–2018), novelist and Oscar-winning screenwriter who wrote The Princess Bride, All the President’s Men, and Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid [NPR]

Mayra Langdon Riesman (1954–2018), founder of Film Scouts [NYT]

Katherine MacGregor (1925–2018), star of Little House on the Prairie [USA Today]

Jerry Ohlinger (1943), beloved movie memorabilia dealer [Cinema Retro]

Fernando del Paso (1935), Mexican novelist, essayist, and poet [Washington Post]

Peter Stern (1928–2018), co-founder of the Storm King Arts Center [WMF]

Bobby Rainwater (1944–2018), a graduate of the University of Arkansas and the Institute of Fine Arts of New York University who spent his illustrious 38-year career at the New York Public Library, retiring as the Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Assistant Director and Curator of Spencer Collection. His passions for artist books ranged from Japanese scrolls to contemporary printed ephemera. He is perhaps most well-known for his exhibition and volume on the prints and books of Surrealist Max Ernst. [via Joseph Nechvatal]

Arnaldo Roche Rabell (1955–2018), Puerto Rican neo-expressionist oil painter [Artforum]

James Sheffield-Dewees, aka Blu Jemz (1976–2018), New York DJ who co-led the label Night People [Resident Advisor]

Linda Tarnay (1943–2018), dancer, choreographer, and teacher [NYT]

Jasmine Weber is an artist, writer, and former news editor at Hyperallergic. Follow her on Instagram and