Company Gallery’s presentation of Jonathan Lyndon Chase in the Frame section at Frieze New York 2019 (photo by Mark Blower and courtesy of Mark Blower/Frieze.)

Art Movements is a weekly index of developments centering the people of the arts and culture sphere. Listen to our weekly podcast of the same name on iTunes.


The Association of Art Museum Curators (AAMC) and the AAMC Foundation named the 20 curators who will receive its 2019 Awards for Excellence. [ARTnews]

Frieze awarded Company Gallery its 2019 Frame Prize for its presentation by Jonathan Lyndon Chase in Frieze New York’s Frame section. Microscope Gallery received an honorable mention for its solo presentation of Takahiko Limura. [via email announcement]

Rachelle Dang, Heather Anne Halpert, Sareh Imani, Victoria Manganiello, Aliza Shvarts, and Crys Yin were selected for AIR Gallery’s  2019–20 Fellowship Program. [AIR Gallery]

Ella Fontanals-Cisneros, Craig Robins, and Raphael Montañez Ortiz were honored at El Museo del Barrio’s 50th-anniversary gala. [via email announcement]

Victoria Manganiello, “Untitled #102” and “Untitled #103” (both 2018), natural and synthetic fiber, artist frame, 62 x 30 x 3.5 inches (courtesy of AIR Gallery)

Jenkins Johnson Gallery was awarded the Frieze Stand Prize for its outstanding solo presentation of Ming Smith in the JAM (Just Above Midtown) section of the fair. Hauser & Wirth also received an honorable mention for their solo presentation of Jenny Holzer in the main section. [via email announcement]

The National Taiwan Museum of Fine Arts in Taichung announced that Hsu Chia-Wei and Ho Tzu Nyen will curate its 2019 Asian Art Biennial. [Artforum]

Massimiliano Pironti, Carl-Martin Sandvold, Charlie Schaffer, and Emma Hopkins are the finalists for the BP Portrait Award. [BBC]

The recipients of the 2019–20 Sharpe-Walentas Studio Program are Yasi Alipour, Patricia Ayres, Dana Buhl, John Edmonds, Jonathan Paul Gillette, Glenn Goldberg, Buhm Hong, Anthony Iacono, Case Jernigan, Tom McGlynn, Nicholas Moenich, Zoe Avery Nelson, Joan Oh, TARWUK, Jason Saager, Mira Schor, and Don Voisine. [via email announcement]

Cameron Welch was awarded the One River School’s first-ever Emerging Artist Award. [via email announcement]


The Jericho Fellowship is awarding four prizes for an essay, a play, artwork, and innovative project based on the theme “epiphany.” Awardees will receive a grant and be invited to a four-day cultural symposium in Venice, Italy. Applications must be submitted by July 30. [Jericho Fellowship]

The Sharjah Art Foundation invites photographers to submit their work to the open call for Vantage Point Sharjah 7 to be presented in an exhibition opening at Sharjah Art Foundation this summer. The submission deadline is June 1, 2019. [Sharjah Art]

Harvey Quaytman, “Mirror to Damascus” (1971), acrylic on canvas, 50 x 136 1/4 inches (© Harvey Quaytman Trust)


The American Academy of Arts and Letters has revealed its new members and the recipients of its annual awards, including Thelma Golden, who is being given the Award for Distinguished Service to the Arts, and Lee Bontecou, who will receive the Gold Medal in Sculpture. [ARTnews]

The ArtCenter College of Design in Pasadena, California, will open a satellite location along gallery row in the Old Bank District of downtown Los Angeles. [Artforum]

Helga Christoffersen was appointed executive director of Art Hub Copenhagen. [Artforum]

Jean Cooney was named director of Times Square Arts. [via email announcement]

Patrick Lee was named executive director of Gallery Hyundai in Seoul. [Artforum]

Mia Locks was appointed senior curator at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Los Angeles. [NYT]

Vanja Malloy was appointed director and chief curator of the Syracuse University Art Galleries. [via email announcement]

Alexander Payne has stepped down as Phillips’s worldwide head of design and deputy chairman in Europe. [ARTnews]

Harvey Quaytman is now co-represented by Blum & Poe and Van Doren Waxter. [ARTnews]


Terry Allen Kramer (1933–2019), Broadway producer [Deadline]

Giuliano Bugialli (1931–2019), writer and culinary historian [Washington Post]

Beth Carvalho (1946–2019), samba singer, guitarist, and composer [Rio Times]

Wayson Choy (1939–2019), novelist and memoirist [Vancouver Sun]

Corinne Cobson (1956–2019), fashion designer [WWD]

Quentin Fiore (1920–2019), graphic designer [NYT]

Rachel Held Evans (1981–2019), Christian writer [CNN]

Ben Heller (1925–2019), influential New York art collector and dealer who embraced Abstract Expressionism [NYT]

Nurit Karlin (1938–2019), cartoonist [NYT]

Norma Miller (1919–2019), lindy hop dancer, choreographer, actress, author, and comedian known as the “Queen of Swing” [The Root]

Les Murray (1938–2019), poet, anthologist, and critic [BBC]

Phil Solomon (1954–2019), professor and experimental filmmaker [Westworld]

Judith Sonett (1938–2019), local political and social activist [Riverdale Press]

Jean Vanier (1928–2019), philosopher, theologian, and humanitarian [Guardian]

David Winters (1939–2019), dancer and choreographer [Broadway World]

Jasmine Weber is an artist, writer, and former news editor at Hyperallergic. Follow her on Instagram and Twitter.