UConn Visual Arts Research Complex (VARC) at Kirby Mill

30 years strong UConn’s MFA program positions studio art practice in a research environment at a top 25 R1 university. Creative research is important at UConn.

The strength of UConn’s program is mirrored in recent successes: 2019 Guggenheim Fellows, Janet L. Pritchard, landscape photographer and Professor of Art, and inaugural 1989 MFA alumna Deborah Zlotsky, painter and Associate Professor at Rhode Island School of Design; three-time Fulbright Scholar Kathryn Myers (2020/2011/2002), painter and Professor of Art; as well as five faculty 2019 Artist Fellowships from the Connecticut Office of the Arts; and 2018 MFA alumna Kaleigh Rusgrove, the most recent Student Fulbright, currently in Australia. Past UConn Guggenheim Fellows include Deborah Dancy (1997), Emerita Professor of Art, Matt Jensen (2016), MFA alumnus 2008, and Mary Kocol (1993), BA alumna 1984.

UConn’s MFA in Art supports art making across a broad range of studio media with an internationally recognized faculty, generous financial support, and new graduate studios, which opened in January. The program is situated in a rural locale centrally located in Southern New England for easy day trips to New York, Boston, Providence, Hartford, and New Haven.

For more information, visit art.uconn.edu.

The Latest