Support Hyperallergic’s independent arts journalism. Become a Member »

Support Hyperallergic’s independent arts journalism.

American Riad, Ghana ThinkTank, 2015 to present. Image courtesy of Ghana ThinkTank, American Riad, and Purchase College, SUNY.

The Corcoran School of the Arts and Design at the George Washington University is accepting applications to its first MFA program in Social Practice. The Master of Fine Arts in Social Practice emphasizes public policy, with a goal of empowering the next generation of artists to bring their studio practice to bear on questions of social justice.

This broadly interdisciplinary program provides the freedom to connect art, public policy and collective action. Over two years and 60 credits, the intensive curriculum educates emerging artistic leaders and problem solvers to research, analyze, prototype and design concepts that tackle some of the world’s greatest challenges.

Students will develop a strong foundation in the history, theory and methodologies of socially engaged art and be able to engage in area studies across the Columbian College of Arts and Sciences.

The Corcoran is located in the heart of Washington, D.C., a global hub for policymakers, tech leaders and cultural institutions dedicated to social change and international development. The school functions as an incubator for artists, designers and scholars, who learn from internationally renowned faculty at the intersection of creativity and social innovation. It is an academic experience like no other — inspiring students to research, create and innovate with the potential to shape the world around them.

Sign up for an online information session:

Thursday, November 7, 2019 – 5 pm PT/7 pm CT/8 pm ET

Wednesday, January 22, 2020 – 5 pm PT/7 pm CT/8 pm ET

See all future sessions.

Now accepting applications for Fall 2020. The priority application deadline to be considered for tuition awards is February 1, 2020. Applications will be accepted through April 1, 2020.

For more information, visit www.programs.gwu.edu/social-practice.

The Latest

Required Reading

This week, the National Gallery of Art finally acquired a major work by Faith Ringgold, the director of The Velvet Underground talks film, North America’s Hindu Nationalist problem, canceling legacy admissions, and more.

Did Judy Chicago Just Troll Us?

Nowhere in the museums’ advertising blitzkrieg for the performance were we told to bring our wildfire-season masks as well as our covid masks, and covid masks don’t prevent smoke inhalation.