Eight visual arts journalists, among them two of Hyperallergic’s own, have been awarded the 2021 Rabkin Prize, a prestigious, nomination-based distinction bestowed annually by the Dorothea and Leo Rabkin Foundation.

Hyperallergic News Editor Jasmine Weber and Hyperallergic Weekend Editor John Yau were among the eight recipients this year, along with Raquel Gutiérrez, who has also contributed to Hyperallergic, and Aruna D’Souza, Jarrett Earnest, Yinka Elujoba, Jennifer Huberdeau, and Mark Lamster. All grantees will receive a $50,000 award.

Recipients are nominated by a panel of 15 individuals working in the visual arts who are asked to identify “the essential visual art journalist working in your part of the country.” Since the Rabkin Prize was launched in 2017, the foundation has awarded a total of $2,275,000 to individual art writers.

Artist Leo Rabkin and his wife, Dorothea, amassed one of the most important collections of American folk and outsider art in the United States, and endowed the Foundation in 1999 to preserve the legacy of Leo Rabkin’s work and support the contributions of those working in the visual arts.

Valentina Di Liscia is the News Editor at Hyperallergic. Originally from Argentina, she studied at the University of Chicago and is currently working on her MA at Hunter College, where she received the...