Hammer Projects: Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Installation view, Hammer Museum, Los Angeles, January 28–May 6, 2018 (photo by Brian Forrest and courtesy of Hammer Museum)

Art Movements is a weekly index of developments centering the people of the arts and culture sphere. Listen to our weekly podcast of the same name on iTunes.


Amanda Abi Khalil, Firelei Báez, Tania El Khoury, Regina José Galindo, Bouchra Khalili, Guadalupe Maravilla, Tinashe Mushakavanhu and Nontsikelelo Mutiti, Cristina Ibarra and Alex Rivera, and Kaneza Schaal have been selected as the 2019 recipients of the Soros Arts Fellowships by Open Society Foundations in New York. [ARTnews]

Lawrence Abu HamdanHelen Cammock, Oscar Murillo, and Tai Shani have been shortlisted for the 2019 Turner Prize. [ARTnews]

The Architectural League has announced the winners of “Just,” the 38th annual Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers program: Cyrus Peñarroyo; Virginia Black, Gabrielle Printz, and Rosana Elkhatib; Gregory Melitonov; Jennifer Bonner; Mira Hasson Henry; and Rachel Barnard. [via email announcement]

Bahar Behbahani, Todd Bienvenu, Sharon Louden, Noah Lyon, Craig Anthony Miller, and Kate Teale are the recipients of the 2019 Cultural Space Subsidy Program. [via email announcement]

Art historian Yve-Alain Bois was selected as the 2020 Mellon Lecturer at the National Gallery of Art in Washington, DC. [artnet]

The Graham Foundation has awarded 63 new grants, valuing over $460,000 to support projects on architecture. [Graham Foundation]

The HMS Caroline in Belfast, Nottingham Contemporary, Pitt Rivers Museum in Oxford, St Fagans National Museum of History, and V&A Dundee were shortlisted for Art Fund‘s Museum of the Year 2019 award. [via email announcement]

Cameron Welch was honored with the One River School‘s first-ever Emerging Art Award. [via email announcement]

Kehinde Wiley will be honored with the Gordon Parks Foundation Award in June 2019. [via email announcement]

Randy Wray was awarded the inaugural Irving Sandler Prize by the Sharpe-Walentas Studio Program. [via email announcement]


The 2019-2020 program cycle of Queer|Art|Mentorship forges new relationships between early-career and established LGBTQ+ artists and curators by partnering mentors with a mentee in their field. To receive an application, one must submit an intention to apply via email before May 30. Official applications open on May 12 and close July 18. [Q|A|M]

Applications are open for the Work in Progress (WIP) residency for textile artists and designers. WIP says “residents have access to a studio in TAC Manhattan’s store-front window for one month and (re)create an active studio of their work.” The program encourages “artists to use the space as a working studio, displaying tools, materials and their artwork in various stages of progress.” Applications are due May 6. [WIP]

Learn about other opportunities you can apply for this month in our latest “Opportunities for Artists in May 2019.”


Jutta Koether, “Starry Night II” (1988), Oil on canvas, 75 x 95 cm, (© Jutta Koether. Image courtesy of Lévy Gorvy and Galerie Buchholtz)

Marina Garcia-Vasquez was named editor-in-chief of Artsy Editorial.[ARTnews]

Victoria Gelfand-Magalhaes was appointed Lévy Gorvy’s president of Europe. [Financial Times]

Elizabeth Humphrey was appointed curatorial assistant and manager of student programs at the Bowdoin College Museum of Art. [via email announcement]

Miriam Katzeff was appointed deputy director of Artists Space in downtown New York. [ARTnews]

Jutta Koether is now represented by Lévy Gorvy. [via email announcement]

Adrien Meyer was promoted to Christie’s chairman of global private sales. [ARTnews]

David Norman was named chairman of the Americas at Phillips. [via email announcement]

Sanjit Sethi was named president of the Minneapolis College of Art and Design. [GW Today]

Yayoi Shionoiri was named executive director of the estate of Chris Burden.[ARTnews]

Linda Stark is now represented by David Kordansky Gallery in Los Angeles. [via email announcement]

Susan Talbott, executive director of the Fabric Workshop and Museum in Philadelphia, has announced her retirement. [via email announcement]

Helen Toomer was named fair director of the Fine Art Print Fair. [via email announcement]

Daisy Wang Yiyou was appointed deputy director of Hong Kong’s Palace Museum. [SCMP]


Steve Golin (1955–2019), film and television producer [LA Times]

Heather Harper (1930–2019), soprano who debuted with the Royal Opera in 1962 [Herald Scotland]

Ken Kercheval (1935–2019), actor [Guardian]

Martin Kilson (1931–2019), the first African American to receive full tenure at Harvard University [The Grio]

John L’Heureux (1934–2019), author, poet, and professor [Stanford]

Truman Lowe (1944–2019), artist and professor emeritus at the University of Wisconsin–Madison [U-W Madison]

Marilyn Mason (1925–2019), concert organist, recording artist, and professor [Antelope Valley Press]

Fay McKenzie (1918–2019), singer and actress [Hollywood Reporter]

Mark Medoff (1940–2019), Tony and Oscar award-winning playwright [LA Times]

Ira Neimark (1921–2019), author and retail executive who served as Chairman and CEO of Bergdorf Goodman [NYT]

Gordon Newton (1948–2019), Detroit-based visual artist [Freep]

John Singleton (1968–2019), film director, screenwriter, and producer who became the first African American and youngest person ever nominated for the Academy Award for Best Director [The New Yorker]

Douglas Williams (1938–2019), Chicago sculptor and community artist who was heavily involved with the South Side Community Art Center [Chicago Tribune]

Michael Wolf (1954–2019), photographer [Inman]

Jasmine Weber is an artist, writer, and former news editor at Hyperallergic. Follow her on Instagram and Twitter.